the brown couch

The brown couch. A very large, 6 piece sectional that my parents bought shortly after they were married 32 years ago. This couch was in my parents life before I was. It lived on Radner Street and Cardigan Court in St. Charles and then made the move to Omaha, Nebraska. Easter eggs were hide underneath it’s cushions when we were little. It was there when the Hall family sat around to open Christmas presents. I am pretty sure I even watched the first  episode of the Bachelor while sitting on the brown couch. In high school, my sister and I argued over who would get to take this couch to their own home once we were grown up, and alas, I won! So eventually the couch even moved  down south to Kentucky.

Image

It has been enjoyed by the entire Hall (and the new Atashroo) Family, Grandparents, pets (Jingles, Mittens, and Teddy) and numerous friends who always fought over who got to sit in the very desired corner seat. But with our move to California, we have decided to sell almost all of our furniture and it was time to retire the 27+ year old couch. After a day on Craigslist and $100, the couch is sold! Luckily it moved onto a new home just right down the street 🙂 Image

While it was a little heartbreaking to see the new owners pile it up in their truck and drive away, there is still a small piece of the couch in the Hall household…The sleeper section was too big for our home so we never moved it to Kentucky. My parents now have it in the basement of their new lake house. I’m glad it’s there because I think Teddy will finally forgive me for selling “his” couch if he is allowed to sprawl out on their portion of the brown couch every once in a while. Image

Leave a comment